

**European Union** 

## EU Key Messages Working Group on Transparency and Reporting

Arms Trade Treaty Geneva, 16 February 2023

## Working Group on Transparency and Reporting (WGTR)

Mr. Chair,

I have the honour to speak on behalf of the European Union and its Member States.

The candidate countries North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Republic of Moldova and Bosnia and Herzegovina<sup>1</sup> and the EFTA country Norway, member of the European Economic Area, align themselves with this statement.

Transparency and reporting are key elements leading to confidence-building among States and enabling accountability and scrutiny for arms export decisions taken by national authorities. Reporting is one of the cornerstone obligations of the ATT.

In December the EU has released its Annual Report on EU MS arms exports, with data on the year 2021. The report is also available in the user-friendly public searchable online database on the European External Action Service's website.

The EU Member States are also working together towards further improvement in the practice of reporting. Last November, the EU adopted its internal good practice paper with elements for developing a national system on reporting actual exports, to serve as a voluntary aid in EU online system for reporting.

The EU once again calls on all States Parties to fulfil their reporting obligations in a timely and transparent manner. We encourage all States Parties to report publicly as an essential way of contributing to the treaty's aim of transparency on arms transfers. Non-confidential reporting increases the relevance of the reports and facilitates information-sharing on transfer decisions.

The EU recognizes that difficulties in ensuring transparency and reporting are manifold. To assist others in fulfilling their obligations in this field, the EU and its Member States has for multiple years conducted various outreach projects. We remain committed to continue to build capacities through these projects, as well as the EU ATT Outreach Project.

Thank you, Mr. Chair.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Bosnia and Herzegovina continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.